e-alliance ::

Discussing Prevention

Prevention can be a controversial and uncomfortable topic especially within and between Christian churches, who account for a large percentage of the global response to HIV and AIDS. Heated debates have arisen in regard to HIV prevention methods such as use of condoms or harm reduction approaches for injecting drug users. The unwillingness and inability to discuss sex and sexuality further hamper our knowledge of the full range of options that are known to be successful in HIV prevention. Religious leaders often feel pressured in their responses to choose between acknowledging the complexities of emerging health crises, such as the HIV pandemic, and upholding long-held traditions and beliefs that are difficult to change or are seen as essential to their faith.

The silence of many churches and religious leaders on comprehensive HIV prevention and the inaccurate information and myths that are then allowed to proliferate contribute to the continued spread of HIV in every region of the world.

Individuals and communities need accurate information on how HIV is transmitted and how it can be prevented. However, prevention efforts must go beyond focusing on individual personal behavior. Effective prevention involves challenging social, political, economic, and religious structures, systems and inequalities that make women, youth, and special groups of the population particularly vulnerable to contracting HIV. Prevention efforts must address the causes and effects of poverty which hamper education, treatment and care.

Promoting HIV prevention means speaking out about the factors and myths that put people at risk of infection, and working to name and change beliefs, structures, and systems that stigmatize people living with HIV.

e-alliance ::

Parler de prévention

La prévention peut être un sujet controversé et délicat, particulièrement au sein des Églises chrétiennes et entre les Églises chrétiennes, qui tiennent une large part dans la réponse mondiale au VIH et au sida.  Les méthodes de prévention du VIH, telles que l’utilisation du préservatif ou les approches de réduction des méfaits pour les consommateurs de drogues injectables, ont soulevé des débats houleux.  La réticence et l’incapacité à parler de sexe et de sexualité nous empêchent également de connaître toutes les options qui ont fait leurs preuves dans la prévention du VIH.  Les chefs religieux se sentent souvent obligés dans leurs interventions de choisir entre reconnaître les complexités des nouvelles crises sanitaires, telles que la pandémie du VIH, et maintenir des traditions et croyances anciennes qui sont difficiles à changer ou qui sont considérées comme des éléments essentiels de leur foi.

Le silence de plusieurs Églises et chefs religieux par rapport à la prévention globale du VIH et la prolifération d’informations inexactes et de mythes qui en résulte contribue à la propagation continue du VIH dans toutes les régions du monde.

Les personnes et les communautés ont besoin d’informations précises sur les modes de transmission et les moyens de prévention du VIH.   Toutefois, les efforts de prévention ne doivent pas se concentrer uniquement sur le comportement individuel des personnes.  Une prévention efficace implique de remettre en cause les structures, les systèmes et les déséquilibres sociaux qui rendent les femmes, les jeunes et des groupes spécifiques de la population  particulièrement vulnérables à l’infection par le VIH.  Les efforts de prévention doivent s’attaquer aux causes et aux effets de la pauvreté qui entravent les possibilités de sensibilisation, de traitement et de soins.

Promouvoir la prévention du VIH implique de parler ouvertement des facteurs et des mythes qui exposent les gens aux risques d’infection et d’œuvrer à identifier et modifier les croyances, les structures et les systèmes qui stigmatisent les personnes vivant avec le VIH.